How long does it take a caterpillar to turn into a butterfly?

The total time that the butterfly stays in the caterpillar stage is about 2-5 weeks and varies based on the species and the growing conditions. Once the caterpillar becomes a chrysalis, it will take an additional 1-2 weeks before it hatches into a butterfly.