Do you pay tax on social security income?

According to the SSA, some people who get Social Security must pay federal taxes on their benefits. However, no one pays taxes on more than 85% of their benefits. You must pay taxes on your benefits if you file a federal tax return as an “individual” and your “combined income” exceeds $25,000.00.