What does the yellow sky mean?

According to Greenpeace data, in July 2020, fires increased by 77 percent on Indigenous lands and by 50 percent on protected nature reserves as compared to July 2019. The fires result in ash and soot, carried by the jet stream. Having the soot between you and the sun will color the sky.