What country owns jamaica?

First occupied by the Spanish in 1494, when Christopher Columbus arrived, until 1655 when Great Britain took the colony from the Spanish and named it, Jamaica. Officially, the island of Jamaica became a country on August 6, 1962, after it gained its independence from the British occupiers.