Why are there so many feral cats?

Because people don’t spay and neuter cats. Rather than find homes for the resulting litters they have been let loose also not spayed or neutered. Because of that, the cats are procreating unchecked. As litters have litters numbers cats. Cat litters can average about 4 to 5 kittens a litter