Where are the batteries on a honeywell smart thermostat?

In most models of honeywell smart thermostats the thermostat itself does not use batteries, rather using power from the HVAC unit itself. The sensor does use two AAA batteries that are changed by popping the cover off, replacing the batteries, and replacing the cover on the sensor