Why does lettuce turn brown?

result of oxidation, and the chlorophyll is oxidized. It is non-toxic and can be eaten. If you find that the roots of the lettuce or the edges of the leaves are red or brown, the iron in the lettuce is oxidized, indicating that it is not fresh