Who sang cats and boots and cats and boots and cats?

Musicians in the hip-hop scene began creating sounds to mimic drum machines (called beatboxes) with their mouths. People making those sounds created what has become known as beatboxing. "Boots 'n cats 'n" repeated with rhythm is just one phrase used to create a simple beatbox. See YouTube.