How far are studs apart in the wall?

When a home is framed, the wall studs are usually spaced 16 or 24 inches apart. If you start in a corner and measure out 16 inches and you don't find a stud, you should find one at 24 inches.

---

In modern construction, wall studs are usually either 16 or 24 inches apart. For exterior walls or load-bearing walls, studs are usually 16 inches apart. When the wall is interior and not load-bearing, it is okay to have studs that are 24 inches apart. From Reference.com