What is the theme song to magnum p. i.?

The original theme of Magnum P.I. was a mid-tempo jazz piece by Ian Freebairn-Smith. After nine episodes, the theme was changed to a more uptempo theme typical of 1980s action series written by Mike Post and Pete Carpenter with guitar by Larry Carlton, and was used for the remaining eight seasons.