When did tennis become a sport?

The History of tennis game was developed from a 12th-century French handball game called "Paume" (meaning palm). In this game, the ball was struck with the hand. In the 14th-century, "Paume" game produced handball "Jeu de Paume" (game of the palm) and that is when the usage of racquets came about.