How did the zodiac killer get it's name?

Zodiac Killer is the pseudonym of an unidentified serial killer who operated in Northern California from at least the late 1960s to the early 1970s. The killer originated the name "Zodiac" in a series of taunting letters and cards sent to the local Bay Area press.