How do you chop down a tree in animal crossing?

To chop down a tree in animal crossing, you will need an axe from Tom Nook’s store. Hold the axe and stand near a tree. Press the action button on your device A few times, and you will chop down the tree. The axe breaks after a few trees and you will have to buy a new one.