What is the jack in apple jacks?

They were originally named "Apple O's" when invented in 1965. Later, their ad agency recommended changing the name to "Apple Jacks" so they could us the phrase "A is for Apple, J is for Jacks" in the advertising. It was really only because of the jingle and nothing else notable.