What is a.m.?

Depends. If asking regarding time, AM = Ante meridiem: Before noon, and PM = Post meridiem: After noon. If you mean in regards to radio, AM is the frequency band that uses amplitude modulation, compared to FM that uses frequency modulation. AM was developed first, and is a lesser audio quality.