Who was first to make cassata cake?

Cassata is believed to have originated in Palermo in the 10th century. Historian John Dickie claims instead that the Sicilian word cassata was not Arabic , but from Latin. He finds, "is the subject of an invented tradition based on the claim that its roots lie in the Muslim Middle Ages.