What does a. d. in years mean?

A.D. is an abbreviation for Anno Domine which is latin for "year of our lord." It is in reference to the alleged year Jesus Christ was born which is considered year 0 A.D. Any year from that point on is designated A.D. (or C.E. standing for Common Era in modern secular vernacular)