Does gas take up space yes or no?

All matter takes up at least a small amount of space. Ideal gases take up an amount of space, or volume, according to the ideal gas law, PV = mRT, where P is pressure, V is volume, m is mass, R is the a specific gas constant depending on its composition, and T is absolute temperature.