How do you know when salmon is finished?

Salmon will change from translucent to opaque as it cooks. After 6 to 8 minutes of cooking, take a knife to peek into the thickest part. If the meat is beginning to flake, but still has a little translucency in the middle, it is done. It should not however, look raw