What book has the most words in the world?

According to the Guinness Book of World Records, the novel, “In Search of Lost Time,” as it contains 12,200,000 words.

---

Over the years, there has been some controversy over what constitutes the world's longest novel. The Guinness Book of World Records gives the honor to Marcel Proust's elephantine Remembrance of Things Past, weighing in at 9,609,000 characters (including spaces).