What's the difference between miss and ma'am?

In general, "miss" is more commonly used to address a woman who is younger, while "ma'am" is more commonly used to address a woman who is older. However, it is also possible to use either term as a sign of respect or politeness when addressing a woman of any age.

---

Ma'am is short for Madam and, by definition, is age-neutral. Miss refers to a “young lady” or “a young unmarried woman or girl."