Who made the dictionary?

The oldest known dictionaries were tablets with bilingual Sumerian–Akkadian wordlists, discovered in modern Syria dated roughly 2300 BC. The word itself was invented by an Englishman John of Garland in 1220. The first English alphabetical dictionary was written by Englishman Robert Cawdrey in 1604.