What's the difference between fructose and sugar?

Sugar is made up of 50 percent glucose and 50 percent fructose. Fructose is a type of sugar that is only broken down by the liver. Fructose intake in sweetened beverages, desserts, and foods with added sugars is associated with many health conditions.