Where is the south sea?

Today the term South Seas, or South Sea, is used in several contexts. Most commonly it refers to the portion of the Pacific Ocean south of the equator. In 1513 when Spanish conquistador Vasco Núñez de Balboa coined the term Mar del Sur the term was applied to the entire area of todays Pacific Ocean.