How do caterpillars turn into a butterfly?

When it's ready, a caterpillar attaches itself upside down onto a twig or leaf, and encases itself in a cocoon. Once in it's cocoon, the caterpillar releases enzymes, called caspases, which dissolve most of its body. Then the organism rebuilds itself into a butterfly and comes out in about 3 weeks.