How many different types of species of sharks are there?

There are Around 440 Known Species of Sharks. There are many iconic species of sharks - the Great White in the film Jaws was burned into popular cutlure, for better and for worse - but they are still a very small subsection of the over 400 shark species that have been discovered by humans so far.