What is the tilt of the earth?

The Earth's axis of rotation is tilted at an angle of 23.5 degrees relative to our orbital plane. The tilt in the axis of the Earth is called its obliquity by scientists.

---

The tilt of the Earth's axis is currently 23.5 degrees from its orbital plane. However, the tilt of the Earth's axis varies from 22.1 degrees to 24.5 degrees over a 40,000 year cycle.

---

Today, the Earth's axis is tilted 23.5 degrees from the plane of its orbit around the sun. But this tilt changes. During a cycle that averages about 40,000 years, the tilt of the axis varies between 22.1 and 24.5 degrees.