Who invented cold brew coffee?

The first evidence of true cold-brewed coffee, made with cold water, comes from Japan. Kyoto-style coffee, named for its popularity in Kyoto, Japan, is the earliest record of cold-brew coffee. It's clear that the Japanese were brewing coffee this way in the 1600s.