What is the difference between a muscle and a clam?

Whereas mussels often have an oblong and thin shape, edible clams tend to be stouter, rounder, and fatter. Clams can grow to be much bigger than mussels with the non-edible giant clam being able to grow to more than 500 pounds and 4.25 feet long.