How many bears are in new jersey?

In April 2019, the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection estimated there to be 2,500-2,800 black bears roaming the northwest corner of the state with smaller populations spread across the state. Some reports estimate the total state-wide bear population to be around 5,000.