What does the name eric come from?

Eric is a typically masculine name that means “forever ruler” or “always ruler.” It's an Old Norse name derived from the Norse word “Eirikr” which means “sole ruler” or “ever powerful”. While the name Eric can be traced to Norse origins, several cultures and traditions also lay claim to the name.