Why is honeydew called honeydew?

Honeydew" is in fact the American name for the White Antibes cultivar which has been grown for many years in southern France and Algeria. In China, honeydews are known as Bailan melons.. According to Chinese sources, the melons were introduced to China by American Secretary of Agriculture, Henry A.