Why are egg rolls called egg rolls?

Egg rolls do not typically contain egg, and the flour wrapper may, or may not, contain egg. A possible origin could be a dish called "Dan Gun" or Egg Roll. In 1917, a Chinese American Cookbook was published with a dish that was vegetables and meat literally wrapped up in an egg and sliced.

---

It’s somewhat of a mystery how they came to be called “Eggrolls” in English. The Chinese name for “Eggroll”, “cha chuen guen”, does not contain the word egg in it at all. “Cha” means “fried”; “chuen” means “circle”; “guen” means “roll”.