What was the first s. m. g. ever made?

The first pistol-calibre sub-machine gun was the Italian Villar Perosa, which was originally designed as a lightweight, portable gun for mobile infantry units. It saw extensive use during World War I. This was followed later by the German Bergmann M.P.18 introduced at the end of the war.