What is the most common first name among u. s. presidents?

James is the most common name of American presidents. James is a Hebrew name meaning supplanter. The six presidents with the first name James include James Madison, James Monroe, James Polk, James Buchanan, James Garfield, and James “Jimmy” Carter.