Are there bears in indiana?

Black bears were historically abundant across Indiana. Unregulated hunting and habitat loss caused black bears to be extirpated from Indiana by 1850. Today, black bear populations are expanding and they may pass through Indiana from adjacent states. Four black bears have been confirmed in Indiana.