What's the difference between a conventional oven and a convectional oven?

In a conventional oven, the dish closest to an active heating element cooks the fastest. In contrast, a convection fan circulates air throughout the cavity, reducing hot and cool spots that may cause dishes to cook faster or slower depending on their placement in the oven.