Is salt a seasoning?

Yes, salt is a seasoning. Salt is a mineral that is often used to enhance the flavor of a dish. It is a seasoning when used this way.

---

In modern cooking it is commonly referred to as a seasoning, but before refrigerators and freezers salt was used as a preservative to keep meat and fish fresh for a few days before consumption.