How do you sanitize water?

Pure water is known as H2O. If it becomes contaminated with chemicals, salts, dirt, bacteria, protists or viruses, it can be filtered, to physically remove those materials. It can be boiled into steam, and re-condensed back into pure water. Chemicals can also be added to destroy contaminants.