Why is it called ranch dressing?

it's named after the actual ranch where the inventor of the recipe for Hidden Valley Ranch buttermilk dressing called home after he moved from alaska to california. inventor Steve Henson. Now ranch is the generic term for all salad dressings similar to the one Henson invented in 1949