What is temperate water?

Temperate oceans are between the winter ice pack limit and the tropics. This is a region of mixed water as currents of warm tropical water moves toward the poles and cold polar water moves toward the equator. ... The cold subpolar water is rich in nutrients and supports abundant plankton.