When is a puppy not a puppy anymore?

In general, puppies become adult dogs between one and two years of age. But it's not like they wake up the morning of their first birthday and are suddenly grown-up dogs! In fact, puppy maturation is a process, and it varies from dog to dog depending on size, breed, socialization, and more.