Are the bahamas a common wealth of the united states?

No, the Bahamas is not a U.S. territory. It became a British Crown Colony in 1718, and gained independence in 1973. A U.S. citizen can acquire an Enhanced Drivers License in some states, or a U.S. Passport Card anywhere. These are valid for re-entry to the U.S. land or sea border crossings only.