Where did the tradition of toasting come from?

Toasting is thought to come from sacrificial libations in which a sacred liquid (blood or wine) was offered to the gods in exchange for a wish, or prayer for health. It was Greek and Roman tradition to leave an offering to the gods, of an alcoholic beverages, during celebrations and after a death.