Why are they called pot stickers?

They were initially regular boiled dumplings cooked in a wok (guo) – the go-to Chinese cooking pot. Over the years, the Mandarin name for pot sticker, guotie, stuck and was translated into English as pot sticker since woks are the basic pot in a Chinese kitchen.