What are the dark spots on the moon?

The spots are called maria, from the Latin word for sea, because early astronomers mistakenly thought they were lunar seas. Actually volcanic plains, the smooth and dark maria cover 17 percent of the moon's surface. Almost all of them are visible from Earth.