Can you make french fries from mashed potatoes?

Making french fries from mashed potatoes won't be successful, especially if you're planning to fry the French fries in oil. The mashed potato will fall apart. A better plan would be to prepare potato patties from the mashed potatoes and fry them in a skillet.