Which became a state first alaska or hawaii?

Alaska and Hawaii became the 49th and 50th states of the USA in 1959. Alaska was bought by the USA from Russia in 1867. It was made a state in 1959, having been a territory until then. Hawaii ceded itself to the USA in 1898 and became a state in 1959.