What makes nails grow?

Nails start in the nail root under the cuticle. Cells at the root of the nail grow, the new nail cells push out old nail cells. These old cells flatten and harden, thanks to keratin, a protein made by these cells. The new nail then slides along the nail bed, the flat surface under your nails.