Where does the term jarhead come from?

The Marines have long used a uniform with a high-collar, originally made of leather, which once led to the nickname “leathernecks”. That high collar was thought to have given a Marine the appearance of his head sticking out of a jar, thus leading to the “jarhead” moniker adopted around World War II.